State Policing Legislation
- Legislative Responses for Policing - State Bill Tracking DatabaseFrom the National Council of State Legislatures. You can search for legislation by state, topic, keyword, year, status or primary sponsor. Policing topics include oversight and data, training, standards and certification, use of force, technology, policing alternatives and collaboration, executive orders and other timely issues.
- Lexis Social Justice Resources "State Net" KitFederal & State government activity, racial equality and police reform legislative, regulatory, and municipal updates. Tracks Federal and State government activity related to racial equality and police reform, including executive orders, pending bills and news regulations. Set up regular updates to follow actions taken.
- Maryland 2021 Police Accountability ActThe law generally repeals the state's Law Enforcement Officers' Bill of Rights regime. Included as an example of local initiatives attempting to achieve the same ends as the pending bill at the federal level, the George Floyd Justice in Policing Act of 2021.
Judicial Diversity
- Judicial Diversity Resource Page Brennan Center for Justice"...resources from the Brennan Center, other organizations, scholars, and the government describing the current composition of our courts, identify best practices for promoting diversity, and clarify the current obstacles to achieving a diverse bench."
- Federal Judicial Center Diversity on the BenchFederal judges listed by eight race and ethnicity categories.
National Organization Resources
- African American History CollectionAn audio, print, and video bibliography from the Florida Humanities Council.
- American Association of Law Schools Law Deans Antiracist Clearinghouse ProjectCurated by the AALS, this content is intended to create "...a space for our collective voices as leaders of law schools to engage our institutions in the fight for justice and equality, we strive to focus our teaching, scholarship, service, activism, programming, and initiatives on strategies to eradicate racism."
• AALL’s Anti-Racism, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Updates & Resources
Black Americans and the Law, University of California Berkeley Law Library. Members Kate Peck, Dean Rowan and Randall Winston created a timeline showing inequality in the Constitution, statutes, court cases, and regulations. Timeline was created in February 2021.*
A Brief History of Civil Rights in the United States, Howard University School of Law Library. Curated resources for learning more about civil rights for Blacks, women, LGBTQIA+, the disabled, and immigrants and refugees. Updates are ongoing.*
Civil Rights, North Carolina Central University School of Law Library. Includes civil rights resources, secondary resources, online sources, and the McKissick Collection. Updates are ongoing.*
Diversity & Inclusion Resource Guide, AALL Diversity & Inclusion Committee. This guide presents information for law libraries who are developing or researching policy, programs, or initiatives relating to diversity and inclusion. Although many key resources are included below, the guide is not an exhaustive list. Updates are ongoing.*
Law Enforcement and Racial Justice, University of Minnesota Law Library. Includes information sources on criminal justice; police tactics and use of force; community relations and activism; police oversight, reform, and defunding; and federal and state legislation. Updates are ongoing.*
Police Violence, University of Hawai’i at Manoa Law Library. Includes a reading list, discussion resources, and list of relevant legal and social justice organizations. Updates are ongoing.*
Race and Diversity in America, Montague Law Library, Penn State University. Features instructional resources and toolkits, films, podcasts, and government materials. Updates are ongoing.*
Race, Oppression, and Social Change Resource Guide, Duke Law Library. Materials for understanding how the government, cultural institutions, private enterprise, and technology contribute to systems of oppression, tools for allyship and educators, and subject headings. Updates are ongoing.*
Racial Justice in the U.S., Drake University Law Library. Information tools for understanding dialogues on race, police and legal reform, social protest, mass incarceration, anti-racism, and historical perspectives; also includes resources for parents. Updates are ongoing.*
Racial Justice Resources, Ross-Blakley Law Library, Arizona State University. Includes national and local information, resources for protestors, recommended databases and journals, and federal reports. Updates are ongoing.*
^Article is from AALL Spectrum or Law Library Journal, / *Material was featured in KnowItAALL
United Nations Guide - UN material
The UN Racial Equality and Justice Guide lists General Assembly resolutions, multi-lateral Conventions, committee materials, news and more.