Florida News
FLORIDA in NewsBank, 1940 to present
Use the USA Source Locator Map on the main page of the database NewsBank to delimit the search by states, or select Florida News Sources from the Quick Links section. The Florida section of the database contains 347 Florida news sources. Among the sources are news magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, videos, web-only sources, blogs, and college and university newspapers.
Major Florida Newspapers
Search individual Florida newspapers. Selected on the Quick links are:
- Miami Herald Collection (newspaper, blogs, video and video transcripts)
- Sun Sentinel (Fort Lauderdale)
- El Nuevo Herald
Florida Legal News
Features news and analysis from ALM Media, Law360, State legal newspapers. Florida legal newspapers focuses on The Daily Business Review, covers Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties, and the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida. Search by key terms including police brutality, racial violence, racial justice.
- Broward Daily Business Review
- Florida Business Review
- Miami Daily Business Review
- The Palm Beach Daily Business Review
Established in 1923, the Times is South Florida’s oldest and largest Black newspaper. The paper sees its mission as "...seek[ing] to educate, entertain and inform our readers by covering those issues that matter most within our community...". Issues can be searched at FIU via the NewsBank database.
News Reports
Voices of Change, Race, Violence and Activism (2018), Reporting by Doreen Christensen, Sun Sentinel.
Short video statements from people impacted by gun violence.
"Long before 17 people were murdered at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in February, communities of color have struggled to fight gun violence. But their messages haven’t always broken through. Following the #NeverAgain and March for Our Lives movements, voices in these communities have seized the moment. Black, Latino and Asian students from Parkland have mobilized to share their tales with the Twitter project #StoriesUntold. Miami-Dade County students and activists also are speaking up, holding walkouts and rallies. It’s time, they say, to talk about race and guns in America."
Racial gap grows in student suspensions, Caitlin R. McGlade, February 5, 2017, p. 1. Sun Sentinel
Legal News & Blogs
- ABA Journal 'Diversity' articlesABA Journal articles analyze current news and issues on topics such as the diversity page linked to above, or access to justice and race and violence. The ABA Journal search engine also searches its Blawgs and delivers results from both sources.
- Bloomberg News 'Social Justice and Diversity' topicLatest stories on the topic. The news page is the default landing page. Search for keywords there such as "social justice", race, racism and violence at the search box. Or, using the menu icon select from one of the pre-selected news topic areas.
- Law360 'Access to Justice' topicExploring issues related to the criminal justice system and reform, including immigration, policing, criminal law, incarceration, and disparate impacts on racial, ethnic, and other minority groups. The section includes occassional series, such as the Judges On Race Series.
- Lexis Legal News (requires Lexis login)Features news and analysis from ALM Media, Law360, State legal newspapers. Search by key terms including diversity, civil rights, race discrimination, or racial bias.
- Lexis 'Social Justice Resources' (requires Lexis login)Three Practical Guidance and State Net resource kits developed by Lexis on social justice:
- Voting Rights Resource kit, U.S. voting rights resources, with links to advocacy groups, primary law, voting rights violations-civil actions, and practical guidance.
- Protester's Rights Resource kit, practical guidance protester's rights, rights of reporters covering protesters, encounters with police, and reporting mistreatment. Contain links to related secondary sources such as journal articles, and treatises.
- State Net Resource kit, racial equality and police reform legislative, regulatory, and municipal updates. Tracks Federal and State government activity related to racial equality and police reform, including executive orders, pending bills and news regulations. Set up regular updates to follow actions taken.
- Researching the HeinOnline Blog: Facts About Police Brutality and Racial DisparityA post commenting on resources and research methods on the topic within HeinOnline.
- Westlaw Legal Newspapers and NewslettersSearchable database of news and analysis. You can filter by topic, publication type, or jurisdiction. Search by key terms, such as "racial equality", immigration, and "criminal justice".
