Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law focuses on practitioner resources and contains Practice Centers developed by a large group of practitioners in law, business, finance, regulatory, and other areas. If you seek Dockets or filings, Bloomberg Law is the place to go for most federal and state jurisdictions.
Additionally, Bloomberg Law provides U.S. Law Week and associated Report. These current awareness resources have been supporting legal practitioners and scholars for over 80 years.
Here, students can access:
- State Law Chart Builders
- Career Resources
- Law Review Resources (aka Seminar resources)
- Points of Law, Citation Maps, Related case law
- Transactional Precedents
- Practice Centers
- Intelligence Centers
- Dockets
- Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law provides primary and secondary legal content; dockets, treatises, company and market information; news; and more.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- U.S. Law Week This link opens in a new windowBloomberg provides original reporting on breaking news about the weeks most significant court rulings; Summary and analysis of important new judicial decisions on topics of national interest; Opinions from the U.S. Supreme Court, all levels of federal courts, and state appellate courts; Links to full-text opinions online.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- Bloomberg Law Dockets This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law dockets provides all that is in PACER and more.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
Lexis
Lexis for Law Schools provides a portal for training, research, and content. Lexis is a legal research database, but also where you can access Public Records, Shepards, and additional content such as municipal codes.
Here students can access:
- Context: judicial and expert profiles
- Public Records
- Law 360
- Shepard's BriefCheck
- Shepard's BriefLink
- Lexis This link opens in a new windowLexisNexis provides legal research tools, on-demand research training, as well as legal career information and support for law students and faculty.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- FIU Clinics: Practical Guidance video (10:46)Video from our Lexis rep on best usage of Practical Guidance module in Lexis.
Search term maps video
Westlaw
Westlaw for law schools, through your OnePass credentials provides access to Practice Ready resources in addition to Westlaw Edge.
Here, students can find and use:
- Westlaw Edge
- Knowledge Center
- Practical Law
- Drafting Assistant Essential
- Westlaw Doc and Form Builder
- ProView eBooks
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is an online research service for law related materials, including federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, legislative histories, law reviews, and general news.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
Other Resources
- Florida Courts Help This link opens in a new windowSelf-Help resources to guide you through the court system. Here you will find free and low-cost legal resources, and family forms. Coverage includes background information and tips on the civil court process and legal forms in a variety of areas. A mobile app for the family law forms can be downloaded at the links on this site. Pro Se forms & resources
- Florida Law Weekly, Weekly Supplement, & Weekly Federal This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Florida Law Weekly, Florida Law Weekly Supplement and the Florida Law Weekly Federal, this contains Florida state, county and traffic cases. It also contains federal cases from the state of Florida.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowOnline access to The New York Times is now available to all FIU students, faculty, and staff. The Group Pass allows each FIU student, faculty, and staff member to claim an online subscription to the nytimes.com site. Set up your account using the link. This service provides full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps, as well as their international editions. Convenient section lists and search tools make navigation simple.
- Powernotes This link opens in a new windowPowerNotes is a productivity tool that allows you to gather, organize, and track internet research easily and efficiently. PowerNotes can help you Keep your legal research organized and generate outlines automatically, so you can focus on the writing. FIRST TIME USERS must register for an account using your FIU email.
- Procertas This link opens in a new windowProcertas (Professional Certifications and Technology Assessments) developed to improve quality and increase efficiency by ensuring that legal professionals are properly using the basic technology tools of their trade: Word, Excel, and PDF. The LTA is an integrated benchmarking and training platform pairing competence-based assessments with synchronous, active learning in a completely live environment. Users who complete the assessment modules will receive a competency badge and become COBOT Qualified (Certified Operator of Basic Office Technology). Unique login credentials sent to FIU Law users in September of each year; Ask a Law Librarian to troubleshoot user access.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal (WSJ) digital campus membership through FIU provides students and faculty full direct access to the Journal. Register and create an account to access content.
