FIU Law Library Resources for Remote Learning
Access to resources changes rapidly. Our FAQ topic "coronavirus" is linked below as FAQ is updated with access instructions.
e-Books
FIU Law Booklist provides information regarding ebook adoptions through FIU Law Library.
If you are adopting a Carolina Academic Press ebook, the FIU Law Library will provide your book in ebook format via Lexis Digital Libraries.
FIU Law Library is working with the Bluebook to provide institutional access to the Bluebook Online. Stay tuned. The 21st Edition is now published.
Assessments
FIU Law Faculty and students have access to the following out-of-box and customizable assessment platforms:
- Canvas Quizzes
- Canvas Assignments
- CALI Lessons
- CALI QuizWright
- TWEN Quizzes
- West Academic Assessments NEW!
Streaming Video
If you would like to assign content not found or unavailable in these resources, please Ask a Law Librarian.
- Kanopy - documentaries
- Swank Digital Campus - featured films
PowerNotes with Sharing
You can now share between users in Powernotes, see https://www.blog.powernotes.com/student-sharing-commenting.
This tool can be leveraged to engage in annotations and commenting on research and writing assignments.
MY.FIU.EDU Resources
You can access your class roster to email your students, and other information via my.fiu.edu. Check out the "Trending Links" section for ease of access to the most-frequently needed features.
my.fiu.edu Navigation Guide PDF
Here are instructions on accessing your class roster: https://academic.fiu.edu/docs/Class_roster_tutorial.pdf
PowerPoint Videos
To create and share PowerPoint Videos via Canvas or TWEN, review our FAQ.
- FIU Law Library: Coronavirus FAQ for the Law SchoolFIU Law Library FAQ Topic = Coronavirus. The law library is updating our FAQ with coronavirus-related updates regarding resources, access solutions, and remote teaching hacks under the topic "coronavirus."
- CALI Lessons This link opens in a new window
CALI includes hundreds of lessons in a number of fields of law that law students can use to improve their comprehension.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- CALI This link opens in a new window
Computer-based, interactive content that cover many topics of law on a narrow scale to focus learning. Requires login using FIU Law Library authentication code. FIU Law students receive their code at orientation. For help, please Ask a Librarian.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- CALI QuizWright This link opens in a new window
CALI QuizWright is a web app that lets law faculty write individual Multiple Choice, True/False, and Yes/No questions, saves the questions in a personal question bank, allows law faculty to bundle the questions into quizzes, uses CALI AutoPublish to instantly and securely publish the quizzes to the CALI website and lets students take the quizzes as formative assessments, either live in class or as homework, right on the CALI website, where most students already have an account. Faculty can view the basic results or access advanced analytic reporting from an online dashboard. Download of results to Excel for further analysis is available. About: https://www.cali.org/content/about-quizwright
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Curated collection of educational videos. View FAQ for Kanopy from FIU Libraries at https://libanswers.fiu.edu/faq/251183
- Powernotes This link opens in a new windowPowerNotes is a productivity tool that allows you to gather, organize, and track internet research easily and efficiently. PowerNotes can help you Keep your legal research organized and generate outlines automatically, so you can focus on the writing. FIRST TIME USERS must register for an account using your FIU email.
- PowerPoint Slides with Audio on TWENFIU Law Library FAQ on how to create and share PowerPoint slide-based videos.
- Swank: Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowNOTE: for classroom and individual use only; not compatible with Google Chrome. Offering streaming through their Swank Digital Campus service, Swank Motion Pictures is the nontheatrical distributor for the majority of the major Hollywood studios as well as many independent, foreign, art house, and documentary offerings.
- Using the Course Roster in PantherSoft – A Brief GuideStep-by-step guide on how faculty can access their class rosters in Panthersoft.
- West Academic AssessmentsFIU Law Library FAQ on accessing and leveraging West Academic Assessments.
- Lexis Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Lexis Digital Libraries provides ebooks for checkout for select Lexis Nexis publications. Includes unlimited access for students to the Understanding and Questions & Answers series. Students can filter for study aids under Advanced Search - Classification - Study Aids. For more information, read OverDrive Lending Policies.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- West Academic Study Aids This link opens in a new window
West Academic Study Aids offers easy online access to hundreds of study aids, treatises, and audio lectures to help you succeed in law school, including Acing Series, Bridge to Practice, Career Guides, Concepts and Insights, Concise Hornbook Series, Flash Cards, Global Issues, Hornbooks, Law School Legends, Law Stories, Nutshells, Quick Reviews, Short & Happy Guides, and Sum and Substance Audio. You can download the West Academic Library Mobile App and study anywhere; available from Google Play or Apple App Store.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- Aspen Learning Library This link opens in a new window
Aspen Learning Library, formerly Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids, is a classroom preparation tool for Law students. The series includes Examples and Explanations, Glannon Guides, CaseNote Legal Briefs, Emanuel CrunchTime and Emanuel Law Outlines, 3 Bar Exam preparation Strategies & Tactics titles, the 'In Other Words' streaming audio and video series, and the Treatise Series.
Access Restricted to FIU Law
eReserves
To place any electronic materials on eReserves for a class
- electronic materials: E-books, E-chapters and Old Exams
- streaming access: Movies, Documentaries
Please send your request via: ASK A LIBRARIAN or email Pushyamitra Veeramachaneni at pushya@fiu.edu<
CALI for Law Faculty
Higher Ed Current Awareness
- Chronicle of Higher Education: Coronavirus Hits Campus - Special ReportLinks to The Chronicle’s key coverage of how this worldwide crisis affected college campuses.
- Inside Higher Ed: Digital LearningArticles from Insider Higher Ed related to online learning and COVID-19
- Inside Higher Ed: CoronavirusLinks to all of Inside Higher Ed's coverage on how COVID-19 is affecting higher education
- Twitter topic: Instructional ContinuityFollow this hashtag to keep abreast of new articles and resources shared by others in the education community
Suggestions from other schools
- Stanford: Teaching Effectively during Times of DisruptionSome of the advice here is specific to Stanford, but there are plenty of general online pedagogy tips.
- Remote Teaching Resources for Business ContinuityLinks to 400+ US universities' policies on academic continuity as well as remote teaching resources
Tips from vendors
- Canvas: Tips for Online LearningA number of relevant posts including "Adapting to Online in a Pinch" and "Canvas Partners and Distance Learning"
- Techsmith: Resources to Effectively Transition to Remote Work and LearningTips for using Techsmith's tools (i.e. Snagit) to incorporate videos, screencasts, screenshots, and images. Also offering free access to some of their products through June 30: https://discover.techsmith.com/remote-techsmith/
- Zoom: Ideas for Creating a Sense of Culture, Community Amid Social Distancing and Work-From-Home MandatesShares some creative ways to build culture and community over Zoom, including a section on Virtual Office Hours