LibGuides: International Law: Databases & Journals

Westlaw / Lexis / Bloomberg

All three of these databases have international materials in addition to the landing pages noted below.

• Lexis Advance International Sources page.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) This link opens in a new window
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes articles from more than 450 foreign legal periodicals from 1985 to the present. The Index covers international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, British Isles, and British Commonwealth.

Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP)
Provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal journals, with international coverage of scholarly articles and books full text, as far back as 1994.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,900 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers.

International Law - Databases box

Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) This link opens in a new window
ORIL has coverage of public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of a number of key non-English decisions. ORIL also includes ICSID investment arbitration decisions.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
vLex This link opens in a new window
vLex is a global comprehensive database containing foreign legal materials in their original languages from over 134 countries. A translation feature is included. You can also reach vLex via the left column eResources link inside the "FIU Law Links" box".
Access restricted to FIU Law.

United Nations Treaty Collection
The United Nations Treaty Collection includes the texts of treaties from the U.N. Treaty Series and the League of Nations Treaty Series.
more...less...
This online database provides information on the status of over 550 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (as of 1 June 2013) and covers a range of subject matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of the Sea.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD)
Search by keyword, title or using the tabs. FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.

History of International Law This link opens in a new window
This database includes information dating back to 1690 on the history of international law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, the Hague Conferences and Conventions and more. Includes more than 1,100 titles.

Cambridge International Law Journal
From HeinOnline, the Cambridge International Law Journal (CILJ) is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal with a broad focus on international law.
CILJ publishes in all areas of international law, including regional and transnational legal regime, such as European Union Law. CILJ provides a platform for both young and well-established academics to publish outstanding research on cutting edge, highly topical international law issues alongside, and in dialog with, each other.

Scholarly articles on foreign and international law can be retrieved in the following databases:

Westlaw, you can search all secondary sources content or restrict your search to international law materials

Lexis, in Content > Secondary materials, or using Practice Area > International Law or selecting a listed country from the International link in the 'Explore' selection tab or the View all Jurisdictions link.

HeinOnline, you can perform searches in several libraries:

Oxford Journals GL

ASIL Insights by American Society of International Law
Publication Date: Began 1996 -
ASIL Insights, the "international law behind the headlines," provide brief, balanced accounts of the international law issues raised by newsworthy late-breaking event.
International Legal Materials by American Society of International Law
Publication Date: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Aug. 1962)-
From 1962 to present also available through LexisNexis Academic

Selection of International Law journals