Internet Resources
- Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)
United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) Secretariat has established a system for collecting and disseminating information on court decisions and arbitral awards relating to the Conventions and Model Laws that have emanated from the work of the Commission.
- Guide to Cross-Border Secured Transactions
A 27 country breakdown from Deloitte, a national audit/consulting firm. The report includes some interesting tables and data, and provides publicity and registration details, but does not give references to the underlying legislation.
- Secured Transactions Reform Project
The project was begun by professors at Oxford University and initially addressed reform in Great Britain. It quickly grew in scope and now provides information and links useful for a comparative law researcher. The "Reform in Other Jurisdictions" tab links to country pages, each of which provides brief current status information and includes links to other sources.
- National Law Center for Inter-American Free Trade (NatLaw)
Opens an interactive map. The country links open a window with basic ST status information.
- The World Bank site includes some Secured Transactions material, including the following:
- Secured Transactions, Collateral Registries and Movable Asset-Based Financing: Knowledge Guide
- World Bank Group Open Knowledge Repository
The repository allows keyword searching and provides some filters. Searches brought up these three documents: Collateral registries for movable assets : does their introduction spur firms' access to bank finance?; Increasing Access to Credit through Reforming Secured Transactions in the MENA Region; and Secured transactions systems and collateral registries.
- The International Insolvency Institute offers:
- International Coordination of Secured Transactions Law Reforms
- Globalex "Foreign Law" Research Guides
The numerous country guides direct you to the local legal sources and give research tips.
Materials from the eight panels of a 2017 regional conference.
Commercial Legal Databases
- Westlaw
- Under International Materials > you can select either a jurisdiction or a Content Type, or
- Browse the International Materials Index.
- The Structured Finance and Securitisation Global Guide, reached from the Practical Law Global link provides material very similar to Bloomberg Law's Getting the Deal Through.
- Canadian Personal Property Acts Current Table of Concordance lists differences in section numbers between the different provinces and also the analogous UCC provision.
- Lexis
- From Explore Content you can select a Content Type, such as Secondary Sources and then craft your search, or
- from Explore Content select International and then a country, or
- Make a selection from drop-down menus of the Browse button in the top bar.
- Lexis coverage also includes two United States focused periodicals:
- The Law of Secured Transactions Under the Uniform Commercial Code, updated annually and
- Clark's Secured Transactions Monthly in searchable-only rather than browsable format.
- Bloomberg Law
- Select either Loans & Secured Financing or
- Structured Finance & Securitisation and choose a country from the lists.
The numerous nation specific information entries in Getting the Deal Through provide practical information on conducting business in the country and refer to the laws and regulations involved.
You can reach Getting the Deal Through from All Content > Books and Treatises > open the Getting the Deal Through TOC links from the drop-down caret "⏵" > select the TOC for your desired topic. ex. 'Structured Finance & Securtisation.