Selected Model Laws
- UNCITRAL Model Law on Secured TransactionsUNCITRAL is a United Nations Commission. The law was approved in 2016. See also the Legislative Guide, and the Security Interests Working Group drafts.
- UCC Article 9, 2021-2022 edition in HeinOnlineAll editions and amendments are available in Hein's American Law Institute (ALI) Library.
- EBRD Model Law on Secured Transactions, 2010From the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development's Secured Transactions page.
- OAS Model Law on Secured TransactionsThe Organization of American States has some additional information on their Secured Transactions page.
Conventions and Agreements
Conventions & Agreements
Coverage at the UNCITRAL site:
- UNCITRAL page on Security Interests
This main page links to various instruments, the legislative guides and to other related resources.
- United Nations Convention on the Assignment of Receivables in International Trade (New York, 2001)
The convention covers asset-based lending, factoring, forfaiting (purchase of exported receivables), securitization, and project financing. The agreement page provides dates of accession and links to the travaux préparatoires and other texts.
Coverage at the UNIDROIT site:
- From the nav column links of the UNIDROIT main page, selecting Instruments then Security Interests will open menu links for the:
- Cape Town Convention (Convention on International Interests in Mobile Equipment)
- Aircraft Protocol (Protocol to the Convention on International Interests in Mobile Equipment on Matters Specific to Aircraft Objects)
- Rail Protocol to the Convention as regards railway rolling stock, and the
- Space Protocol to the Convention as regards space assets
Use the links on the right hand column of the pages to review material related to each of the instruments. Related Studies have a separate link.
- Features of International Texts on Security Interests
Subtitled Comparison and Analysis of Major Features of International Instruments Relating to Secured Transactions, the 45 page pdf document uses charts to provide 'summary of purpose', coverage comparisons, term definitions, and also Article references for all of the international texts as of 2011.
Coverage at the Hague Conference site:
- Convention on the Law Applicable to Certain Rights in Respect of Securities held with an Intermediary
The U.S. has signed the Convention, which may change the choice of law selections from that set out in the UCC in matters involving securities and financial assets.
Coverage at the OHADA site:
- Uniform Act on Security Interests
OHADA, the Organisation pour l'Harmonisation en Afrique du Droit des Affaires, is composed of 17 African francophone countries. Their Uniform Act took effect in 2011.
Coverage at the U.S. State Department site:
- Commercial Law page
Listing of Private International Law agreements and instruments.
- International Law and Agreements: Their Effect upon U.S. Law
Congressional Research Service report, latest update.