Case Law Sources
- International Law Reports / vLex This link opens in a new windowThe International Law Reports (ILR) systematically reports in English decisions of international courts and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts and tribunals dealing with issues of public international law, from 1919 to the present. ILR features a diverse range of topics such as, conflicts between states, state and diplomatic immunity, terrorism and refugee law, among other topics.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- EU Supreme Courts Common Case PortalA "... meta-search engine of National Case Law ... created by the Network of the Presidents of the European Supreme Courts."
- German Federal Constitutional CourtLink is to cases that have English translations from the Court and contain the phrase "freedom of expression".
- German Law ArchiveThe German Law Archive publishes translated cases, statutes, literature and bibliographies on German law.
- Global Freedom of Expression Case Law DatabaseA curated collection of over 1,728 cases from Columbia University's Initiative.
- Loyola Law at L.A. Inter-American Court of Human Rights ProjectThe 'Censorship' topic lists 4 cases. 28 cases are listed for 'Freedom of Expression'.
- Selected German Cases on Freedom of the Press and ExpressionFrom the University of Texas' Institute of Transnational Law.
- Lexis Foreign LawLexis provides coverage for the countries listed, and news from others reached from the "View all Countries and Regions" link below the listing.
- Westlaw International MaterialsCases and other sources from selected jurisdictions.
- Article 19.org's FoE pre-2003 National Case Law ListingDigest summaries of almost 100 cases from 18 countries. Use the Index to search by topic, or the Table of Contents to view countries and case names. Also available in print.
- Article 19.org's FoE pre-2003 International Case Law ListingDigest summaries of some 200 cases from 18 countries. Use the Index to search by topic, or the Table of Contents to view by the presiding court. Also available in print as volume 2 of the set.
- Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) This link opens in a new windowORIL has coverage of public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of a number of key non-English decisions. ORIL also includes ICSID investment arbitration decisions.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
- vLex This link opens in a new windowvLex Justis is a global legal database that contains foreign and international case law. It includes constitutions, cases, statutes, codes, law journal articles, books, and legal news in multiple languages for 134 countries including Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela, Portugal, Italy, the United Kingdom, Belgium, France, and the United States. Search terms and full text results can be translated into 13 languages.
Access restricted to FIU Law.
Constitutions
- Constitute ProjectIncludes texts for constitutions of most independent states. Allows for searches by keyword, geographical area, country, and additional comparative analysis features.
- FoE Related Latin American Constitutional provisionsThe 'Freedom of Thought and Expression' topic in Spanish as of 2006, from Georgetown's Political Database of the Americas.
- World Constitutions IllustratedHeinOnline resource, "...contains thousands of contemporary and historical documents, as well as many features to enable one to browse and search across constitutional law of more than 190 countries...."