Faculty eResources Guide

Click on the links below to jump to a specific section on this page. Use the 'scroll to top' button on the right to return here.

• Legal Research & Writing Resources
• Legislative and Regulatory Resources
• Transactional Resources
• Litigation Resources
• Other Resources

Advance your Curriculum 

This instructor's guide is designed to assist Faculty in incorporating Bloomberg Law into the legal research and writing curriculum. The guide is divided into two parts: (1)  an introduction to basic legal research for first-year students; and (2) the second section focuses on transactional and litigation research for advanced legal research courses. Click on Advance your Curriculum below to view or download the guide.

Basic Legal Research

This section is designed for first year law students, contains materials for first year law students that can be integrated with the legal research and writing program. Covers researching case law, using BCite the Bloomberg Law Citator to assess the value of a decision as precedent, showing the direct history, how the case progressed through the court system, displays all the cases that have subsequently cited the original case, provides the table of authorities cited to in the opinion, and lists other legal materials that reference a particular case. The guide provides instructions on how to search, and explore secondary sources and news.

Advanced Legal Research

The second section of the guide is intended for advanced law students and is focused on litigation and transactional resources. The guide offers instructions and examples on how to search dockets, to find examples of complaints, briefs, motions and other pleadings. Bloomberg Law dockets gives access to federal dockets, as well as selected state and international dockets.

 The section covers a wide range of practice areas under Transactional Resources, including contracts, mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance, real estate, employment law, and intellectual property. The guide provides instructions on how to find resources that will help students in drafting documents, due diligence and negotiation for the different types of transactions encountered in the practice of law.

Legislative and regulatory resources content includes Statutes at Large and the United Codes; State Statutes; the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.), the Federal Register, and materials from federal agencies, exchanges, and self-regulatory organizations; federal bills, the Congressional Records, congressional committee reports, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports; administrative law opinions regarding challenges to regulations and agency activities.

• U.S. Code
• Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
• Monitor Regulators (Federal Agencies & Regulators)
• State Laws & Regulations
• Legislative Resources
• Regulatory Resources

Bloomberg Law helps you learn about the types of transactions you are likely to encounter in practice and provides practical examples and guidance, including the following materials:

•  Document and clause descriptions
• Transaction checklists and timelines
• Sample forms and model agreements
• Drafting guides
• Treatises

You will find specialized search interfaces for identifying sample documents and clauses for use in actual drafting. DealMaker Document and Clause Searches enables you to target specific types and offers real-world transaction documents with keywords and particular information such as the firms and attorneys involved. You can also compare clauses of interest found through the DealMaker Clause Search and even include your own clause in a comparison.

Through litigation resources you have access to primary legal content, including federal and state opinions, statutes, and regulations, Federal and State court rules, Federal and State jury instructions, and comprehensive federal docket coverage, under E-Discovery, and books and treatises from the Practicing Law Institute (PLI) the American Bar Association (ABA), James Publishing amont others.